It’s Time to Make Time

“Friendship is born at that moment when one man says to another: ‘What! You too? I thought that no one but myself…'”

-C.S. Lewis

We all have that one friend that has been with us forever. Well, in this case, it’s since middle school. She was with me through my awful awkward stage, my colorful skinny jean stage, my braces, my unibrow (ugh), and all those TERRIBLE middle school crushes that both of us try to forget ever happened. Her name is Blair Zellner, and she is one amazing woman.

Blair and I met at a small Christian school in my town. We actually didn’t like each other very much at first, but eventually we were as thick as thieves. We had so much fun together, and a list of our inside jokes would probably go from here to Mexico (and if she ever reads this, she will get the joke in that). It was wonderful. We were so ridiculous, my brother used to say that the two of us apart were pretty cool, but when you put us together we were too loud and obnoxious to handle. We took that as a compliment.

24221_1143579648615_7464296_n

Blair and me in middle school. Look at those braces. Wow we are pretty.

Unfortunately, since she is a year older than me, she went off to high school in the next town and our time together slowly stopped. When I was 15, she moved to California. The distance did a number on our communication, and where we once talked all day everyday, we began to communicate only through the occasional letter or phone call. She moved back, but with both of our busy schedules it was hard to see each other. Our friendship stayed strong throughout, though, and she was still the person I called when I just needed to vent or laugh.

She ended up dating one of my closest friends, and when they tied the knot I was blessed to be one of her bridesmaids.

Even though she and her husband live literally 30 seconds away from my work, I was terrible at making time to see them. She was pregnant and she really could have used my company, but I just was too busy. So, after a lot of not-so-subtle direction from the Lord, I added this to my bucket list:

10) Spend more time with Blair.

I know that may seem silly or strange, but I needed to remind myself of the importance of our friendship. Actually writing it down gave me a visual reminder, and every time I look at my bucket list I see that.

I’m happy to say that I now see her at least once a week, and it’s like we never spent any time apart. We think we are the funniest people alive, and I am so in love with her one month old daughter. She and her husband are still some of the closest friends I have, and I am beyond blessed to know them.

I actually wasn’t going to post this, but I wanted to get to the heart of this story: invest in your relationships. Take it from me, letting friendships go is so much more harmful and hurtful than it seems at the time. It’s not that hard, all it takes is a text or a visit. When everything falls apart, your true friends are the ones that are there for you. On my worst days, I can spend time with Blair and find myself laughing till my side aches (and cuddling with the cutest baby girl ever). Friends are such a wonderful gift, so don’t let them go. This adventure is a lot more fun with them by your side.

One thought on “It’s Time to Make Time

Leave a Reply

