You Never Know Unless You Try

“You can be childlike without being childish. A child always wants to have fun. Ask yourself, ‘Am I having fun?'”

– Christopher Meloni

Being accused of being childish has always driven me crazy. I mean, I’m a teenage girl and sometimes we do childish things. But having a childish nature? That is kind of a harsh thing to say.

If you tell me I’m childlike, though, I take that as a wonderful compliment. Who said growing up means not being allowed to do things that might make you look silly? I look silly 90% of the time, and I don’t mind. I just don’t see “growing up” as an excuse to stop having fun. This might make some people mad, because we all know what I mean. I want to be able to have fun during the day (which to high schoolers is like impossible, for some reason we decide to plan every event at night). So this weekend, I did two childish things that ended up being so ridiculously fun that I will most likely do them 100 more times in the future. They were also both on my bucket list.

#8) Thrift store competition

#9) Paint twister

Let me tell you, this was a fun weekend. Let’s start with the thrift store competition.

Basically, my friend Makayla and I had to find an outfit in the thrift store that cost $5 or less. This is hard considering the only thrift store open that day was a little pricey, but we decided to do it anyways. Given that we’re both pretty broke, we didn’t purchase our finds. But we spent about half an hour roaming through the thrift store, attempting to make a decent outfit. If you want to keep the price under $5, that’s basically impossible. So we stretched the rules and tried to find something very ridiculous.

You bet we found something fast.

Take a look at these gems.

Yes, I did feel like Macklemore.

Yes, I did feel like Macklemore.

A cool perk: I found a $15 Dooney and Burke vintage purse; you better believe I searched my car like a madman until I found enough money to pay for it.

So then next day, still laughing about our thrift store finds, we played paint twister. Some real quick background on this: I had promised Makayla during our freshman year that we would do this. We are now half way through the last semester of senior year. It took a very long time, but I DID NOT LIE. It happened.

If you haven’t looked lately, Twister is ridiculously expensive. Like almost $20. Do you think we were going to buy that considering we were about to destroy it with paint? Nope. We ended up taking a huuuuge sheet of plastic from a friend of ours who paints for a living. Then we made the little spinny thing that tells you where to put what and on what color (we did this using a print out of it, paper clips, and some fine ingenuity). After all this was done, we went out into the windy, freezing, almost raining weather and played paint twister. Thankfully, we didn’t freeze to death. Unfortunately, I ended up doing the splits due to slippery paint and my entire body was stained.

Pre-game picture. We look so nice and paint free.

Pre-game picture. We look so nice and paint free. Notice the storm clouds in the back.

Aaaaand this is the end result.

Aaaaand this is the end result.

I would highly recommend paint twister to ANYONE. It is seriously such a blast. Just a warning: be smarter than Makayla and me, though, and

a) play when its actually warm outside

b) have a third person present to spin the wheel (it was just us and we fell a lot trying to spin the dang thing.)

It’s so great to be able to cross these two things off of my bucket list. Who said being childlike was bad? This weekend was one of the best of my life. So go out there, do something silly, and enjoy it. You’ll never know what’ll happen unless you try.

One thought on “You Never Know Unless You Try

Leave a Reply

