Learn Something New

“I am always doing that which I cannot do, in order that I may learn how to do it.”

-Pablo Picasso

It started as a theory.

One of my closest friends and biggest role model suggested that I learn piano (or I guess, technically, keyboard).

Don’t get me wrong, the idea sounded appealing. In theory. Actually executing it, however, was a different story. I’m pretty sure it was a year ago when she actually drew me a diagram of a keyboard and showed me where to place my fingers. In my amazing organizational talent, I lost the paper within two days. So she tried again. Guess where paper #2 went…

So anyways, the idea of me learning to play the keys has been around for some time.

So about two months ago, this same mentor finally had enough. At practice for Sunday worship, she placed me in front of the keyboard, gave me a handful of sticky notes, placed me in the careful guidance of my friend Marco, and let me learn.

Armed with those sticky notes and Marco’s help, I played (if you can call it that, I literally was playing one key at a time) the keyboard the very next day in front my whole church. Terrifying.

I went home and dug my family’s old keyboard out of storage and used some more sticky notes (those things seriously became my best friend). It’s actually a miracle that I remembered where middle C was.

Eventually, I removed my sticky notes and used dry erase marker, slowly erasing one after another.

Over the last couple months, I’ve been teaching myself how to play full chords. That’s all I can really do, but at least I no longer rely on sticky notes. I have the keys memorized. I practice for at least an hour everyday, and while I still have a loooong way to go, I feel like I have a good enough grasp to say I’ve completed another thing on my bucket list.

7) Learn an instrument

My cute little keyboard in all its dry-erase glory

My cute little keyboard in all its dry-erase glory

Even though she’ll never read this, I really want to thank Michele for everything she has done for me and for pushing me outside of my comfort zone.

I also want to encourage you all. Believe in yourself. If you set your mind to it, you can do things you had never thought possible. That’s the beauty of life, success is available to everyone who wants it. It just takes a little hard work and, in my case, hours and hours of pounding your head against the keyboard.

Just believe in yourself and you can do anything

Leave a Reply

