Hello world!

“We live in a wonderful world that is full of beauty, charm, and adventure. There is no end to the adventures we can have if only we seek them with our eyes open.”                – J. Nehru.

Welcome to my little corner of the internet. I hope you enjoy it here.

I have dreams. I mean, we all have dreams, right? Mine tend to be slightly outlandish. I dream of visiting every continent (yeah, because that’s realistic), learning new languages, experiencing new cultures. Basically, anything that involves a passport. I cherish my dreams.

But in reality… I’ve never been outside of the good ol’ US of A. I leave my home state of Arizona to either a) go to California, where I will be attending college next semester b) go snowboarding or c) visit my family in Minnesota. That’s about it for me. Don’t get me wrong, I have tried to leave. My dad gets super wigged out about the thought of me leaving the homeland, so as a high school student, I can’t do much to dispute him.

So I made a bucket list. 101 things I want to do before I graduate high school. For a lot of people who live in big cities where adventure is lurking around every corner, that might seem easy. I, on the other hand, live teeny tiny little town. I’m not kidding. There’s one real high school and my senior class has 102 kids in it, which is actually the biggest class we’ve had in about 20 years. But I want to stop complaining about my little drive through town. I want to enjoy where I’m at and come to find the beauty in it. Adventure at home is a great thing, and there really is so much to do. Adventure is something that is only defined in a person’s own heart. I don’t want to live a life that is stagnant. I want to do the things that I want to do, even if it’s on a much smaller scale than my dreams of traveling the world. 

So, here I am, keeping track of my bucket list with an audience currently at zero (but I’m holding out hope for more one day). I’m not going to list the whole thing because that would take forever. Currently I’ve completed 5 things on my bucket list.

1) Ride a black diamond (that one was pretty easy, and not a first.)

2) Register to vote

3) Do something I’m scared of. (I gave a speech infront of a group of veterans and snowboarded down a slope that has always terrified me and I’d vowed to never do.)

4) Wear something funky. (Which, for me who usually wears sweatshirts and jeans, consisted of a really cute hippie headband I’ve had for years and never had the guts to wear. But hey it’s a start.)

5) Start a blog.

Please stick with me, I need all the support I can get!

Leave a Reply

